Weight Loss Apps – Lose It!

download

Today I have decided to reveal my secret key to the weight loss success I had last year. Around Christmas of 2012, I was searching through random articles that were posted on my Facebook timeline (like I usually do) when I found an article about weight loss apps for iPhones and Androids.

After reading the article, I did some research into the various types of applications, and came across one that was high rated. This one app seemed easy to use and follow so I downloaded it for free (there is a version that you can purchase, but it’s not necessary if you don’t want to spend the money).

The app is extremely simple to use. You input what you eat and it tracks the calories for you. I know a lot of people aren’t keen on counting calories, but the truth about weight loss is cutting out the bad foods, discerning what you can eat, and really being conscious of what you are putting into your body compared to how much of the energy you are using (i.e. how much you are burning).

You set it to your weight, gender (because men and women lose weight differently), your height, and how much weight yo want to lose a week (you can choose from 1/2 lb to 2 lbs). Based off of these variables, the app calculates how many calories you are allotted a day. Based off the food you input, it will also calculate how much fat, carbs, and protein you have consumed that day (in the paid version you can see much more).

download (1)

One of my favorite features to this app is the scanner. Using the phones camera, you can scan any bar code and the information will be filled into the app for you.

You can also add exercises into the app, which will negate some of the food you have consumed. The exercises range from basic things like running and weight lifting, to even doing chores and yardwork or even yoga and stretching.

You can track how you are doing during the week and see how you have done compared to other days. Using this, you can allot a certain amount of calories for each day if you are planning a pizza party or drinking with your friends at the end of the week. Any excess calories you have saved from one day, but you go over another day, will average out at the end of the week.

loseit

Another nice feature is that this app will let you add food from chain restaurants and major food stores. Granted, not everything is in the database yet, but it’s a useful tool when deciding what to get when you visit restaurants or fast food locations because you see just how many calories are in certain items.

This app made me really conscious about the fuel I was putting into my body and how much I was ingesting. You would be surprised at what you forget you mindlessly ate earlier that day while at the computer or doing something, and how much that can affect your calorie intake for the day.

My advice is to get creative with your cooking, and to start cooking at home. The best food for you is the food you prepare yourself, because you know exactly what is going into your body.

Something else you should know about: there is a website that all your data is recorded on. On the website, there are communities of people who are trying to get their lives back and lose the weight, so the support network is wonderful. You can even get friends and family involved, cheer them on via the app, see how much they are losing, and share recipes that you make and input into the app (forgot to mention you can do that, and it again calculates how many calories and nutrients are in the meals you prepare).

download (2)

All in all, this is a fabulous app that helped me shed over 30 lbs in about 3 months. I went from a size 10 to a size 2, and I have been doing my best to eat right and be aware of what I am eating. Ever since I started this journey, I have been feeling better than I have in my entire life. The only times I feel sick anymore is when I have fast food or things high in fat and sugar (like sweets, cakes, cookies, etc. in excess).

I hope this helps with your journey!

~Kati

P.S. No, Lose It! did not pay me to endorse them. This is a true testimony that this app works, but the most important part is sticking with it and not cheating yourself.

Leave a Reply

