Star Wars Half Marathon Weekend just announced, Jan. 15-18, 2015

Star Wars

Boy am I excited for this announcement!

Happy Monday Magic Milers!

Last week, runDisney announced the newest installment of Half Marathon weekends, the Star Wars Half Marathon Weekend presented by Sierra Nevada Corporation! They, of course, have been dropping hints for months, but now it’s official.

That’s right, now all the lovely folks who dress up as R2D2 and Han Solo have a place where they can run together! This is incredibly exciting for me since I have been a fan of the films ever since my father geekily pulled them out and showed them to my brother and myself (along with Indiana Jones) at the ripe ages of 6 and 4. And thus, my nerdom came to fruition.

These races will be taking place in Disneyland, California and will sport some of the usual suspects:

  • Kids races
  • Star Wars 5K (I think they could have been a little more creative with the name)
  • Star Wars 10K (see above about the naming issue)
  • A Wookie Welcome Party (represses urge to make Wookie growls)
  • They even have “The Rebel Challenge” which is reminiscent of a few other challenges I can think of… but it’s where you run the 10K on Saturday, then the Half Marathon on Sunday.

You can sign up for the email reminder to register here.

 

May the force be with you, and maybe I’ll bee seeing you there! ;D

Happy running!

~Kati

 

P.S. I will be moving out of state next Monday. I will attempt to have a post ready to launch by then, but if I do not, I apologize in advanced and will make it up to you with a recipe and my discussion of a mystery topic… 😀

Leave a Reply

