The Wonders of Oatmeal

Happy Magical Mile Monday!

This week I thought it was time for another food update. What should you eat before and after a run? This is a very good question, and I’m here to help!

Heaven knows I wake up before the sun to go on my morning run (I wake up early because it’s the only time during the day where I can fit it in, plus my brain is too tired to eve realize what’s going on). So, about an hour before my run (usually at 5 a.m., early, yes I am aware) I eat a slice of whole wheat bread with some cheese (I’m a fan of Laughing Cow ((no, they do not endorse me, I just like their cheese)) ) and a cup of coffee.

The caffeine from the coffee gives you the energy to get through the workout and the bread helps absorb the acidity of the coffee so it won’t eat away at your insides while running.

After I run, I head straight for the kitchen. You need to refuel after working out. Every thing I’ve ever read says you should consume a protein shake. Do you know why you should consume protein? While running, your muscles tear in random places. They are little tears and this is supposed to happen. When you consume protein after your workout, your body repairs itself faster and makes the muscles stronger, and ultimately larger. This is what creates the definition we so desire.

Sometimes I reach for my favorite Greek yogurt recipe. Other times I head for my pantry when I’m feeling a little more drained than usual.

Carbs (OH GOD, SHE SAID THE BAD WORD) give you energy that helps get you moving, especially after a work out. When a run kicks my butt, I reach for oatmeal.

My oatmeal recipe is EXTREMELY similar to my Greek yogurt recipe. But that’s because I like sweet things.

However, there isn’t enough protein. So here’s what I do:

I cook my oatmeal according to the directions. (I use Coach’s Oats because I can get it in bulk at Costco and it was designed with athlete’s in mind by a coach at my college, CSUF)

Coachsoats

Next, I throw in the PB2 (all hail powdered peanut butter. Less calories and fat added since it is powdered and not in a paste form which requires preservatives.) I use 2 tbs. which is about 45 calories. Yes, you read that right, 45 calories.

Add a little vanilla, some sweetener, and then the MAGICAL INGREDIENT (CHEMICAL X, hahaha…sorry, writing this out made me have a Power Puff Girls flashback).

Here’s the recipe for Cookie Dough Protein Oatmeal:

1/4 c. Coach’s Oats (no, not endorsed by them either, I just like their product and I have school pride, GO TITANS!)
3/4 c. water (to cook the oatmeal)
2 tbs. PB2
1 scoop Protein Powder of your choosing (I personally use Muscle Milk Vanilla, in which case you should use HALF a scoop. I have found it doesn’t make it too…well…if you’ve had a protein shake, you know what I’m trying to say.)
Vanilla flavoring to taste (this is what I use, but you can use any flavoring you wish)
And sweetener to taste (this is also what I use)

Cook oatmeal according to directions. On the Coach’s Oats container, make it for the “lighter appetite” because trust me, the normal serving is HUGE.

Add ingredients, mix and enjoy! Careful, it’ll be hot.

What are some of your favorite oatmeal recipes?

Have a Magical Mile day!

-Kati

Leave a Reply

