My Background

Hi everyone!

I started this blog with the intentions of helping people who are new to running (or simply new to RunDisney events) to achieve their goals.

But first, let me tell you a little about myself and why I do this.

Disney has been something I have admired and loved my entire life. I fell in love with princes fighting dragons, I cried when Mufasa died (still do), I sang with the colors of the wind, I’m still convinced my childhood toys come to life when I leave the room, and lastly…THAT LIBRARY!

Disney (dare I say it) helped me a lot through some pretty tough times because they kept my imagination alive. Here’s what I mean when I say “tough times”: my parents divorced when I was 4 so I lived between two homes. They remarried at the same time, so at 10 I suddenly had whole new families. My father moved out of state and commenced a bitter custody battle over me all through my middle school years. I moved in with him in Arizona when I entered high school.

Then things get dark. My dad was my best friend and closest confidant. You could say I was a daddy’s girl. My dad passed away a week after my 17th birthday from a massive heart attack. We didn’t even know he had heart problems. He was 46 years old.

I fell into a deep depression and my weight began to reflect it. Every year since he passed (2008) I have lost someone close to me.

2009- Close friend passed in a car accident
2010- Grandma on mother’s side lost her battle with breast cancer
2011- Granny on dad’s side passed after suffering Alzheimer’s, breast cancer, a broken hip, and a stroke.
2012- A friend’s heart burst while leaving a concert
2013- I discovered my grandfather on my mother’s side body because he had passed away in his home, alone.

So, as you can see, it has been a rough few years.

After my grandma on my mother’s side passed, my mom became pretty depressed as well and her weight was reflecting her state of mind. The family unit (mother’s side) decided to take a trip to Walt Disney World to boost everyone’s spirits back in 2012. A few months before, my mom decided to do some research into the time we would be there and discovered we would be arriving a day before the 2012 Wine and Dine Half Marathon weekend.

So…she decided to sign herself up.

Why? I still have no clue. But, being a good 30 years younger than my mother, I couldn’t let her “show me up” (in truth, I didn’t want her doing this alone without the support she deserved). So I signed up with her, and shortly after my step-father signed up as well.

And thus began a journey that I have not yet disembarked.

But here’s kind of the disclaimer when it comes to that fateful 2012 half marathon: I had never run a single mile straight ever in my life. My mother and I were overweight by at least 30lbs. We had no idea where to start.

So this blog is to help those of you who have taken the first step and signed up for that race. On your journey, you will discover things you might not have expected and there will be sensations you have never felt before.

This is a place where I will be chronicling my journey so you will have an idea of what to expect.

The picture is what my mom and I looked like before we decided to be “crazy”.Image

 

photo(1)  This is when I ran my first RunDisney Half Marathon. I ran as Merida and the runner behind me to the right is my mother, who ran as Queen Elinor.

Leave a Reply

